Book Review – Kill for Me

Kill for MeKill_For_Me
Book 3 of 3
Written By: Karen Rose
Published By: Grand Central Publishing a division of Hachette Book Group, 2009, First Edition, 422 pages, hardcover
ISBN 978-0446510301

Kill for Me is a dark thriller that explores the terrifying world of online predators and sex trafficking; it’s gritty, intense and fiendishly-satisfying!”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“Five teenage girls have been viciously attacked. One survived. Only she can reveal the secrets of a disturbing ring of people who kidnap and sell teenage girls on the black market. But those responsible for the crimes will do whatever it takes to maintain her silence.
Susannah Vartanian and Luke Papadopoulos have both sworn to stop the murderers for their own personal reasons. The investigation leads them to the shady realm of Internet chat rooms, where anyone can mask his or her identity. They soon discover a chain of deception so intricate they don’t know whom to trust. Finding comfort in each other’s arms, they begin to unravel the intricately knotted threads, but the killers are ruthless and determined, and won’t hesitate to take extreme measures to insure their anonymity and keep their business intact. When Susannah proves to be inexplicably linked to the crimes, her life is soon in danger, and Luke will do everything he can to save the woman he loves.”

Kill for Me is fast-paced; a page turner that keeps you guessing until the end! I was really pleased with this story because it gave me a lot of clues, yet I STILL wasn’t able to pick out one of the killers; I was stunned when the main villain was revealed. This book reads like a block-buster movie and I for one, would like to see it adapted to film…this is a movie that I would go to the theatre to see! There were some shocking and unexpected plot twists and some very typical ones for a book in this genre. The love scenes, though few and far between, were very intense and highly sensual. I would have liked a little more graphic detail in some of the scenes as it would have made the story that much more realistic and would have pulled the reader deeper into the book. The characters are well developed, each with a distinct personality that sometimes left a bad taste in my mouth; I wanted the bad guys to meet a terrible end and hoped for the good guys & gals to win the day. Luke Papadopoulos is strong and steadfast, yet he is very vulnerable because of the atrocious content that he is exposed to in his line of work; his sense of failure and his powerlessness hangs over him like a dark cloud. Susannah Vartanian has secrets from her past that have come back to haunt her; her tough outer facade begins to crumble under the weight of the investigations and during the search for victims; for those who might have been spared had she been braver in the past. Can Luke and Susannah work with the investigative team to unravel the mysteries surrounding the kidnapping and trafficking ring or will they become ensnared in the deceitful web of lies and become targets themselves? You’ll have to read it to find out!
I highly recommend this book!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (8 out of 10 Diamonds) – Thoroughly enjoyed it
 

Link to the Author’s Website:
 http://www.karenrosebooks.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/

A special thanks to Hachette Book Group for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

8 thoughts on “Book Review – Kill for Me

  1. Hi Stacybuckeye,

    I agree…I wish I could have started with the first book too! ;)
    If the 3rd book was this good, the first two have to be as good or better I would think.
    I might read book 1 & 2 anyhow lol :)

  2. I have this book but have kind of put off reading it because I was afraid it might be too gory. I’m relieved to see it’s so good.

  3. Hi Bermudaonion,

    This book has a tiny little bit of gore; it’s no BoneMan’s Daughter or Afraid, that’s for sure!
    I would have preferred more gore and detail, but that’s just me. ;)

  4. ***********************************************************************
    Thanks, Bobbie! Glad you enjoyed KILL FOR ME!

    For Stacybuckeye – Book 1 is DIE FOR ME, book 2 is SCREAM FOR ME. Hope you like them :-)

    For Bermuda – I think KILL FOR ME has more alarm than gore – “what if my kid made a mistake and got sucked into a nightmare-world like that?”
    ***********************************************************************

  5. Hi Karen Rose,

    You’re most welcome! :) You’ve done a wonderful job with Kill for Me and I can’t wait to read more books written by you!
    Thanks for commenting.

  6. This sounds like a great book. I think I felt the same as Kathy, that maybe it would be a little too gory and graphic – I might check this one out now.

Leave a Reply

