Book Review of ‘What Witches Want’

Monday, September 22, 2008 – original post

What Witches Want,
Book Two of the Witchery Series
Written By: Laura Stamps
Published By: Trytium Publishing, Apex North Carolina, 2008, First Edition, 259 pages, softcover
ISBN-13: 978-0-9798413-2-3

What Witches Want is an entertaining story that wraps you in the comforting and spell-binding arms of the Wiccan faith”

Savannah Monroe is a thirty-five year old Wiccan Faery Witch who owns a successful business called ‘Savannah’s Magickal Handbags’.
Her now ex-husband Reece is a negative man who had taken the joy out of everyday life for the loving and friendly Savannah. Moving to South Carolina was just what she needed for a new start and inspiration.
One morning Savannah finds a messenger of light; a small kitten that she happily welcomes into her home. Unsure of what the furry little bundle’s appearance may portend, Savannah is pleased that her good friend Ravena drops by for a chat. It seems as though the kitten’s arrival means that good fortune is in the cards for the kind-hearted Savannah.

What Witches Want walks you through the lives and loves of several pagans living in suburban South Carolina. Laura Stamps writes with a loving hand; all the spells, rites, vegetarian recipes, magical charms and invites you into Savannah Monroe’s home and her life as a passive observer to all the elements of her day.
I had a little difficulty getting into the book initially because it is so different from what I am used to reading.  The story was quite slow in the beginning but it was also very refreshing because of its unique content and characters.
Though I have no experience with the Wiccan Faith and I myself am an Atheist, I was impressed with the detail and thoroughness that went into the descriptions of the characters, Savannah’s surroundings, her meals, etc.
I enjoyed the peaceful feeling I had as I was reading What Witches Want and there were a few moments where even I, was wondering what it would be like to be a Wiccan Farey Witch :)
If you are interested in the Wiccan Faith, witches, fairies, spells and chants with a romantic love story, I recommend this book to you!

♦♦♦♦♦ (5 out of 10 Diamonds) – I liked most of the book

 
Link to the Author’s Blog:
http://laurastamps.blogspot.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.trytium.com/

3 thoughts on “Book Review of ‘What Witches Want’

  1. **************************************************************************
    Laura Stamps said…
    Hi, Bobbie!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the novel! Wynn and Donnie are totally yummy heroes in that one for sure. And the next novel in the trilogy comes out in a week. In “Call of the Witches” you’ll meet another of my yummy guys, Blaine. That one is smoking HOT, so you’ll need a cold drink handy when you read it. *grin*

    For your readers who would like to read the first few chapters of my novels they can find all those links at my main books blog:

    http://www.LauraStamps.blogspot.com

    Thanks for including that link at the end of your review. Happy reading, and I’ll see you on Goodreads!

    xoxo
    Laura Stamps
    http://laura-stamps8.livejournal.com (my naughty Author Blog/updated daily)
    September 23, 2008 11:48 AM
    **************************************************************************

    ~ Bobbie Crawford-McCoy ~ said…
    Thanks for sending me your book to review and thanks so much for commenting on my review!
    Np, I provide a link to the Author and Publisher for each book I review, where possible.
    September 23, 2008 11:14 PM

  2. Yes, it’s a really nice book :)
    I believe the third book in the series will be out in a couple of months.

    Thank you Ladytink_534, I appreciate the compliment ;)

Leave a Reply

