Book Review – Ace of Hearts

Ace of Hearts,
Written By: Jean Holloway
Published By: FireFly Publishing & Entertainment 2007, First Edition
252 pages
Softcover
ISBN 978-0-9774126-6-2

Ace of Hearts is a sensual, erotic thriller that chills you to the bone; a captivating read that won’t disappoint!”

At the age of thirty-one, Detective Shevaughn Robinson is finally being promoted to the Homicide Division of the 23rd precinct in Portsborough, New York.
As a black, female detective in the police force in 1981, Shevaughn has to keep her ‘game face on’ at all times while being mindful of those who are waiting for her to slip up and confirm that a women ‘shouldn’t try to do a man’s job!’.
The night before she is officially a part of the Homicide Division, Shevaughn gets to investigate her first murder case.
The killer, soon to be known as “Ace of Hearts”, does atrocious things to the women he kills and leaves Shevaughn with a sense of impending doom.
He lovingly cleans up after each murder, selects only beautiful-looking women to kill and he becomes obsessed with Shevaughn’s dark beauty.
With no signs of forced entry into the homes, one has to speculate about what kind of man the “Ace of Hearts” really is.
With the aid of reporter Tony O’Brien and her new partner Detective Jared Benjamin, can Shevaughn catch the killer before he strikes again?

Ace of Hearts is a really superb book. As a rule, I’m not really ‘into’ thrillers so I was very surprised by how riveted and entertained I was, by “Ace of Hearts”.
Jean Holloway’s writing style grabbed me from page one and held on to the very end. I seriously didn’t want to put the book down until I had finished it!
I loved knowing who the killer was from very near the beginning of the book; I hate spending the whole time trying to figure out who the bad guys is.
Instead, I was able to watch as the main and supporting characters find clues and new bodies and all the while, reading dialogue from the killer himself. Such an excellent way to get readers intrigued and allows us into the thoughts and mind of the serial killer.
*** Very graphic sexual content ***
I really enjoyed “Ace of Hearts”. I highly recommend this book!! 

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (9 out of 10 Diamonds) – Loved it!

 
Link to the Author’s Website:
http://www.deckofcardz.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.fireflypublishingent.com/index.htm

To listen to an interview on Blog Talk Radio with Jean Holloway please click here.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Ace of Hearts

  1. ************************************************************************
    Jean Holloway said…
    Hi Readers,
    1st, I want to thank Bobbie for the GREAT review. I’m proud to say ‘Ace’ was nominated 2008 Best Mystery, but Walter Mosley won. To think my debut novel was up against such a literary giant is overwhelming.
    (OK, I wanted 2 win, that ‘I don’t care if I don’t win, it’s enough just 2 B nominated’ BS is just that, BS! ;o)
    ‘Ace’ is now an ebook available @ http://www.deckofcardz.com!
    and I’m also nominated as Best New Author by AAMBC. I’m like the Eveready Bunny!! LOL
    Happy Reading,
    Jean
    Please vote for me!
    AAMBC Best New Author.
    October 2, 2008 1:13 PM
    ************************************************************************

    ~ Bobbie Crawford-McCoy ~ said…
    You’re welcome Jean :)
    I loved ‘Ace of Hearts’ and I voted for you too!
    You’re a literary force to be reckoned with for sure…You Go Girl ;)

    Bobbie
    October 2, 2008 3:42 PM

    Missy said…
    Sounds like something I would enjoy.
    I’ll add it on my reading list.
    October 2, 2008 11:33 PM

  2. Thanks J. Kaye :-)
    It isn’t too shabby, if I do say so myself.
    Thanks for making the move with me, I appreciate it!

  3. sounds like a really good read. Jean seems like a wonderful person, i visited her site and she comes across so well that I almost felt as though I had met her.

Leave a Reply

