Book Giveaway of ‘The American Journey of Barack Obama’ (IS CLOSED!)

barack-obama

*** Congratulations to Sharky M.(#115) ***

*** A Giveaway of The American Journey of Barack Obama by The Editors of LIFE Magazine ***

 A Special Thanks to Anna at Hachette Book Group 

The American Journey of Barack Obama covers the candidate from his childhood and adolescence to his time as editor of The Harvard Law Review and his Chicago activist years, culminating with the excitement and fervor of the historic 2008 Democratic National Convention. The unfolding drama of Obama’s life and political career is cinematic in scope, and never has it been presented so compellingly.

In addition to a powerful array of photographs that were taken by many of the country’s greatest photographers (and some that were snapped, in the quiet moments, by Obama family members themselves), this book also includes a Foreword by Senator Edward M. Kennedy, an incisive narrative biography and original essays by some of our finest writers, including Gay Talese, Charles Johnson, Melissa Fay Greene, Andrei Codrescu, Fay Weldon, Richard Norton Smith, Bob Greene and several others. Many readers will find a new understanding of Obama. All readers will feel that they are bearing witness to a singular, undeniably American story.

To Enter: Please make sure to leave a reply in the comment section of this post.

♦The giveaway is open to Canadian and US residents only.
♦You must be 18 years of age or older to enter.
♦The winner’s mailing address: NO P.O. Boxes.
♦Only one entry per household/IP address.
♦The contest ends at midnight on December 5th 2008.
♦One(1) winner will be picked in a random draw and will be notified by 5pm (MDT) by e-mail on Saturday, December 6th 2008.

Good Luck Everyone and Have Fun!!

208 thoughts on “Book Giveaway of ‘The American Journey of Barack Obama’ (IS CLOSED!)

  1. I’d love to win this book! I find him to be very charismatic and he really seems sincere and honorable, so I’m interested in his story.

    Judi sidhevicious(at)shaw(dot)ca

  2. Yep, I’m back! Please enter me, I do need to learn more about him!
    Thanks so much!
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  3. I truly believe that President elect Obama is meant for even more than the WhiteHouse! I find him to be a person who can fill others with hope and optimism!

    I would really love to win a copy!

    Thanks

    anne_c_taylor@hotmail.com

  4. I am Canadian, but I think Obama is a great choice for your country.
    congrats and keep up the good work

  5. Please enter me. Thank you! I would like to learn in more depth of President Elect Obama.

  6. I would love to win this!! Me and my children, even though they couldn’t vote, were some of his biggest supporters!!

  7. Have voted in every presidential election since 1960 (you had to be 21 then) when I cast my vote for JFK. Every time exiting the voting booth I was always aware of a feeling that I had participated in history and wondered how it would effect my life. This time I was most aware that this vote would greatly effect the lifes of my grandaughters and there was something both terrifying and hopeful in the air. Since I am an athiest I will not pray for President Obama but will sent him my best wishes and keep my fingers crossed. I would love to have this book as a reminder of my adventure last Tuesday.

  8. I was Obama when Obama wasn’t cool yet lol
    I really look forward to the change that he is going to bring. We’ve been “bushwhacked” for far too long now.

  9. This book looks like a fantastic read and would like to know more about our future president! Thank you for your giveaways!

  10. I would love to know more about this man– voted from my heart this time, and now I would like some evidence to back that up!

  11. How do we know that the first comment never wins? How can we ever know?
    Good to read, hope I win :o)

  12. Well.. .sounds like something interesting to read. God knows that this book is probably not biased if it is distributed by LIFE. None of the media was biased. LOL
    Can’t wait to read this book about the Messiah !!!

  13. President elect Obama will effect the world. As a Canadian I would like to win this. Congratulations Americans on this historic win.

  14. My grandsons were so interested in the election, I would love to give them this book as a keepsake.

  15. I volunteered for a solid 3 months for his campaign – 7 days a week! I’d love to win this!

  16. Even if you didn’t vote for him, it’s amazing that a black man could be voted president..it shows the change this country has gone through. I would love to be a fly on his wall or in his head, but this book will have to do.

  17. I am a happy American because of Obama. Thank you for all the opportunities to win these great books. Thanks, Hachette.

  18. Now that Obama has won the election (Yipee!!!), I’m not glued to CNN. I have tons of time to read. I’d love to read this one. ;) Please enter me. Thank you.

  19. This sounds like a great read – enter me please!

    danyelletyrrell at hotmail dot com

  20. Inspiration! I think so-o-o-o many people are intensely curious about where this person came from, continuing in a wonderment just where he is GOING (and taking us along)! A lot of thoughtful people are suddenly focused on the same page of a new-and-improved ‘play book’ and finally feeling some serious hope. Just like I’M hoping to win this, then kick back and do some serious readin’! Thanks! (and sorry about that other sweep — we got so caught up in the fun that we both kinda “blew right by” the “one per household” restriction)

  21. This would be a great book to read and have to pass on to the next generation in the family. Please enter me in the drawing.

  22. This would be an interesting account of this historic time in our country’s history!! I’d love to win!

  23. This would look so excellent on my bookshelf, right next to all of my JFK books. (Not kidding.)

  24. This is a piece of History that needs to be saved through the generations. Please enter me.

  25. oh god…..my boyfriend family are very big into talking politics. in fact its become on “offlimits ” topic..to much argueing. if im chosen to get this book it will find a very good home with his extremely liberal aunt and uncle who are also both lawyers :)

  26. I THINK THIS BOOK WILL BE VERY ENLIGHTENING ON THE LIFE OF OUR NEW PRESIDENT. I THINK BAROCK OBAMA WILL BE A LEADER WHO WILL HAVE THE ADMIRATION AND RESPECT OF A GREATFUL NATION. THIS IS A BOOK THAT I WOULD LIKE TO SHARE WITH THOSE WHO HAVE NOT IN THIS WORLD.

  27. It’s our duty to have all good wishes for President elect Obama. It’s an honor and a priviledge to pray for him and encourage him. What an inspiration! Truly he was meant to be our 44th President! God bless him!

  28. I’d love to have this book as a memento of this historic time in our country. Please enter me in your giveaway!

  29. What a wonderful looking book. Would be great for our family to read and proudly display in our home.

  30. I am an Obama fan and am trying to convince my husband to give him a chance. Looks like a great book

  31. Who would not want to read this book (and Time-Life books are ALWAYS excellent) now that Barack Obama has become president?

  32. I would love this book! I love this man and think he will make an excellent president!

  33. I supported Obama when there was about 16 people running for President early in the election! I am pleased that he won! I would love this win! Thanks!

  34. I think Obama is really given lots of people Hope
    including me. I would love to have this book so enter me in this contest

  35. Hi! I am SO SO SOOOOO HAPPY Obama is the new President of the United States and the book sounds great! Please enter me into the giveaway. Thank you!

  36. I would love to win this. Obama is such an inspiration to all people of all races, beliefs and ages.

  37. As someone who campaigned for Barack Obama, this book would be the second prize for me …… the first being his election.

  38. This is one book that I must read. I proudly voted for Barack Obama and am thrilled that he won. This country is indeed ready for a change and by gosh, Yes We Can and Yes We Will.
    Thanks for the great giveaway.

  39. I would love this book. I own “Dreams of my Father” and “The Audacity of Hope” and I would love to read this also.

  40. This would be a great gift for my husband as he is the biggest Obama cheerleader. Thanks for the giveaway.

  41. I saw this book on shelf at the store and thought it would be a good read, thanks for the contest.

  42. For almost two years, since I first saw President-Elect Obama on a television interview, I was so deeply impressed by his poise and intellect, I’ve worked tirelessly to help to get him elected. Needless to say, all of our hard work and determination was worth it…..YES WE CAN! I would love to have this book.

  43. I would love to read this book. I think it would be fascinating. Thank you so much for the great contest.

  44. This is one book that I would love to read and study. I learned a lot about Obama during the campaign, but I know there is so much more to learn. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway! HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ONE AND ALL!!!

  45. This is one of those books that pinpoint a time in history that you want to have for posterity. Some highlight tragic events and others like this highlight an amazing story of overcoming all the odds. To see a man, born in obscurity rise above what some would have called his station is life is a testament that with hard work, perseverance and hope that one can accomplish anything. It reminds us all that we are only limited by our own vision.

  46. ****** CONGRATULATIONS TO Sharky M.(#115) for WINNING ONE(1) COPY of The American Journey of Barack Obama!! ******

    The winner was sent an e-mail congratulating them on the win and requesting their information so the publisher can send the book out to them.

    The Winner was chosen using Randon.org http://www.random.org/.

    Thank you to everyone who participated!!

Comments are closed.