Book Giveaway of ‘The Other Queen’ (IS CLOSED!)

the-other-queen

***Congratulations to Christina Brunetti(#101) on winning (1) copy of The Other Queen***

*** Book Giveaway of One(1) hardcover copy of The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory *** 

This dazzling novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory presents a new and unique view of one of history’s most intriguing, romantic, and maddening heroines. Biographers often neglect the captive years of Mary, Queen of Scots, who trusted Queen Elizabeth’s promise of sanctuary when she fled from rebels in Scotland and then found herself imprisoned as the “guest” of George Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury, and his indomitable wife, Bess of Hardwick.

The newly married couple welcome the doomed queen into their home, certain that serving as her hosts and jailers will bring them an advantage in the cutthroat world of the Elizabethan court. To their horror, they find that the task will bankrupt them, and as their home becomes the epicenter of intrigue and rebellion against Elizabeth, their loyalty to each other and to their sovereign comes into question. If Mary succeeds in seducing the earl into her own web of treachery and treason, or if the great spymaster William Cecil links them to the growing conspiracy to free Mary from her illegal imprisonment, they will all face the headsman.

To Enter: Please make sure to leave a reply in the comment section of this post.

♦The giveaway is open to Canadian and US residents only.
♦You must be 18 years of age or older to enter.
♦The winner’s mailing address: NO P.O. Boxes.
♦Only one entry per household/IP address.
♦The contest ends at midnight on January 16th 2009.
♦One(1) winner will be picked in a random draw and will be notified by 5pm (MDT) by e-mail on Saturday, January 17th 2009.

Good Luck Everyone and Have Fun!!

240 thoughts on “Book Giveaway of ‘The Other Queen’ (IS CLOSED!)

  1. This sounds like an interesting book. I’d love to read this.

    rsgrandinetti(at)yahoo(dot)com

  2. I absolutely LOVE Historical Fiction! I’ve read “The Other Boleyn Girl” and I’m reading other titles in Ms. Gregory’s series. I would love to win “The Other Queen”!! I am an anglophile and enjoy reading about The Royals. Thanks.

    Mel K.
    Meljprincess AT aol DOT com

  3. I enjoy Philippa Gregory’s great writing. Her historical fiction has always appealed to me and is extraordinary. What wonderful novels that are unique and special. Thanks for this great giveaway.

  4. Please enter me in this giveaway. I liked Philippa Gregory’s Tudor series, so I’m hoping this will be a great read as well.

    Thanks!

    ~ Popin

  5. please enter me. I loce historical fiction and this looks like a book I would really enjoy

  6. I absolutely adore historical fiction. I never liked history until I discovered historical fiction. Now I know all kinds of things about history that I never knew before.

  7. Although I’ve read lots of historical fiction, and several of Philippa Gregory’s novels, I have never read much about Mary, Queen of Scots. I’d love to win this book. Thanks

  8. I’m a big fan. But I too have read everything from a Tudor perspective. Please enter me. Thanks, Sararush at hotmail dot com

  9. Oh, I want to read this. Please enter me. (Picking me as the winner would be even better.) Thanks

  10. I would love a chance to read this book. Hope I get the opportunity!
    Winning it would make it just that much better.

    Good Luck to all!

  11. Your cogent review made me want to read this book. Thanks for letting all of us know about a good read and thank you also for the contest.

  12. This looks intriguing. It seems like a smooth and enjoyable read. I hope I get to win it.

  13. This sounds interesting, but I would especially would love to win it to give to my wife, who I know would love it!

  14. this really sounds like a book i can sink my teeth into. thanks for this great giveaway.

    teechbiz at gmail dot com

  15. I love Philippa Gregory and I love historical novels, so I would love to win this – make an avid reader happy and pick me please!

  16. I would love to win this book, and then share it with my mother and family when I am done. It looks fantastic!
    Count me in please! :)

  17. The story of Mary, Queen of Scots, is a fascinating one and I love to read the different tales that well-informed authors develop.

  18. So glad to see this book is up for grabs!!! This book has been on my to buy list forever! I love all of her books that I have read, in fact she is the one that got me started on my love for historical fiction!
    Thank you so much for this opportunity!
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  19. I’m pretty much obsessed with anything written by Philippa Gregory. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  20. I’ve read her other books and would so love to win this. Jean Plaidy wrote some books about Mary Queen of Scots and I’d love to see how Phillipa approaches the subject. Will make me homesick for Scotland though!

  21. Phillipa Gregory has really become a force in historical fiction-thank you for this giveaway!

  22. I like reading historical novels. I’ve read and enjoyed other accounts of Mary, Queen of Scots, so it would be interesting to make a comparison. Thanks for this giveaway. I’d love to win it!

  23. I would love to read this book. I like historical fiction and it sounds right up my alley.

    Thanks for the contest.

  24. I used to put henna in my hair when I was younger–cuz I wanted to be a redhead like Mary, Queen of Scots! Would love to be entered in your giveaway. Thanks!

  25. I would really love to win this book! It sounds so good! Thank you for the giveaway!
    mittens0831 AT aol.com

  26. Count me in I love to read, and I would Love to read this!
    barbmccrea at hotmail.com

  27. The description sounds very interesting; historical writing is among my favorite types of books. I love to read. Thank you.

  28. I would defintely love to read this, love these type of books and era, thanks for the giveaway

  29. I love reading any fictional stories about histry and this one sounds great please enter me to win!!

  30. I’ve been meaning to start reading Phillipa Gregory’s novels, and winning this one would be a good start.

  31. With money tight buying a new book is a luxury. However each book open your horizons and makes you more aware of the world around you.

  32. This sounds like a very interesting book! I LOVE reading! :)

    Good Luck to everyone!!! :)

  33. Sounds like a fascinating and engrossing read… This era of history has always inspired curiosity in me and going by Ms. Gregory’s reputation (unfortunately, I have never read any of her novels), this should be great. Please enter me and thank you.

  34. i have read several of her other books and would LOVE to read this one too. Please consider me

  35. I love Philippa Gregory’s books, and can hardly wait to read this one. (I hope I win it!)

  36. Not even the TV ‘Soaps’ of today could provide such a bewildering turn of events as those of the UK in Elizabethan times. Only by reading Phillipa Gregory’s book, will I be able to discover and feel the truth of what really happened between Elizabeth and Mary during those intriguing times. This book would give me great pleasure.

  37. I’ve read The Virgin’s Lover and the Queen’s Fool and would love to win this book. Thank you for the great giveaway!

  38. I have 6 of Philippa Gregory’s books and I love them all! Please enter me in this contest!!

  39. I enjoy most everything that Phillipa Gregory writes and I love historical fiction — would love a chance to read this one too!

  40. I have a little group of friends at work who share the books that we all get. This would be a great addition!

  41. I love English history! Philippa Gregory’s books are always great reads. Thanks for the chance to win.

  42. I love Philippa Gregory and can’t wait to read this book. And winning it would be even sweeter!

  43. This sounds really good — I’d love to read it. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

  44. You here so many things about Anne Bolelyn (she had a huge hairy mole, she had 6 fingers on one hand, etc.). After watching The Tudors I’m even more intrigued by her story. I missed catching the movie in the theaters so I’d love to read the book.

  45. sounds like a great book! i love to read ! hope to win this
    I NEED A GOOD BOOK TO GET THROUGH THE WINTER BLAHHS!!

  46. i read alot during the winter months and with weather like we are having (currently -21 degrees) who can blame me… not planning on venturing out unless i have too:P

  47. Great to see she has a new book out – I’ve read all her others. I like the perspective she puts on women in history.

  48. I love to read historical fiction. I would love to win this!! Thank you for the chance.

  49. I have read every book she has written and I loved them all. She does an amazing job drawing the reader in when she writes about the queens. I recommend her books to everyone

  50. Thanks for referring me to your site, Bobby – I’d love to enter this contest for a real book!

  51. I could not put The Other Boleyn Girl down and I’m excited to see if this book is just as thrilling and rich. Thank you for the chance to enter.

  52. Historical fiction is great to read b/c one must use their imagination a lot of the time and it gives you a sense of history! I don’t know about anyone else, but textbooks just don’t do it for me as far as captivating my interest in the past…so that’s why I like to read these novels;) Please include me in the draw for this awesome giveaway!

  53. I would love to win this book. Thanks for having the wonderful giveaway.

    dianad8008 AT gmail DOT com

  54. I’ve wanted to read this and The Other Bolen Girl but haven’t had the chance!! Please enter me to win. Thank you so much!!

  55. I would enjoy this book. I have seen several movies about the Elizabethan era and Mary Queen of Scots as well as researched this era online. Thanks.

  56. I’ve enjoyed Ms. Gregory’s historical fiction novels for ages, and they keep getting better and better. Thanks for the chance to win.

  57. I enjoy reading and learning about history. I haven’t ready any of Ms. Gregory’s work, but I did see the movie of “The Other Boleyn Girl.” I’d really like the chance to read her new book.

  58. I love historical novels.Please enter me to win this bestseller
    Thanks for the giveaway

  59. **Congratulations to Christina Brunetti(#101) on winning (1) copy of The Other Queen by Phillipa Gregory**

    The winner has been notified by e-mailed, of the win and asking for their full name and mailing address (NO P.O. Boxes).

    The Winners were chosen using Random.org http://www.random.org/.

    Thank you to everyone who participated!!

Comments are closed.