Book Giveaway of ‘Celebrating African-American History’ (IS CLOSED!)

celebrating-african-american-history-giveaway

**Congrats to Kathy Yohanna(#104), Denise(#55), Gary Bronstein(#75), Carolyn(#11), Veronica Sandberg(#34) **

*** Five(5) chances to WIN a set of ALL 8 Books!! ***

The American Journey of Barack Obama By The Editors of Life Magazine
Fledgling By Octavia Butler
Stand the Storm By Breena Clarke
Red River By Lalita Tademy
Keep the Faith: A Memoir By Faith Evans
Say You’re One of Them By Uwem Akpan
The Shack By William Young
The Bishop’s Daughter By Tiffany Warren

To Enter: Tell me how are YOU are planning on celebrating African-American History Month? and please leave your answer in the comment section of this post.

♦The giveaway is open to Canadian and US residents only.
♦You must be 18 years of age or older to enter.
♦The winner’s mailing address: NO P.O. Boxes.
♦Only one entry per household/IP address.
♦The contest ends at midnight on February 27th 2009.
♦Five(5) winners will be picked in a random draw and will be notified by 5pm (MDT) by e-mail on Saturday, February 28th 2009.

Good Luck Everyone and Have Fun!

A great big thank you goes out to Hachette Book Group for allowing me to host this wonderful Book Giveaway!

105 thoughts on “Book Giveaway of ‘Celebrating African-American History’ (IS CLOSED!)

  1. I’m planning to celebrate by reading appropriate books and listening to appropriate music.

  2. What a great giveaway! Several of the books being offered are on my current wish list. As for celebrating African-American History Month, I just ordered, and received the non-fiction book, The Hairstons, about a family with both a white side and a black side that have embraced each other, and learned to respect each other. I plan to read this wonderful-sounding family saga.

  3. I’m going to celebrate by picking a book about African-American History. I haven’t done so yet, but I’ve narrow it down to 3. Or I might just reread “The Book of Negros” by Lawrence Hill.

    Anyway, I’d love to be entered for these books. Thanks for hosting this giveaway, Bobbie.

  4. What a great book selection. I plan on reading What Would Martin Say? I also hope to look through some books I already own bt black authors. These would all be great choices. Thanks for the opportunity to win :)

  5. I have been watching many of the documentaries and shows in honor of the month. I have wanted to read The Shack so that is a great one for me and anything about our President would be welcome too.

  6. I could never understand why the teaching of African-American History was only given one month and the shortest one at that. I think that “American” history should include all nationalities of those that have come to this country and are now part of the fiber in the QUILT of AMERICANS. I think we should make it a point to speak to schools about this. One would think that now that we have a President Obama in our midst that the mentality of teaching segregated history would change as well. I’ll get off my liberal podium now.

  7. No plans yet, however, I am quite excited about our new president and would love to get a copy of his book!

  8. I will think more than usual about the struggle African Americans went through and how they have overcome so much.

  9. no plans but I do plan on going to the Martin Luther King museum at some point in time

  10. We are actually going for a tour around our city of graves and businesses of the first local black families that came to our island. I’m married to an African Canadian, so I feel that this month is so important to/for our daughters. We are also going to check out the museum as there is a display up for African American History Month!

    Thanks, how brilliant it would be to win these books!

  11. watching alot of the movies and programs on tv and reading the articles- there are readings in school but really are not taken too seriously here and its important to know about rosa parks, and many others

  12. To watch some some specials on TV and to also read a book or too. It is a great to learn and refresh the memory from school days

  13. What a great set of books for a giveaway. I will watch some movies and possibly do some online research to celebrate.

  14. I’m celebrating African-American History Month by helping to maintain the book display at my local library.

  15. These are great books, some I’ve already read. So far my kids and i have read some book about african american inventors and watched a couple of movies that are on now. I’m not sure what else we will be doing for this month.

  16. I plan on listening to some of Martin Luther King’s speeches. They are so inspiring. Too bad he isn’t alive to see our new president.

  17. I have been watching the biographies celebrating Black History Month on the Biography channel and having lively discussions about them with my friends and co-workers.

  18. I plan to do some reading about African-American histsory and watch the biographies celebrating black history.

  19. I am reading a book called The Help by Katherine Stockett. It’s a novel about the civil rights movement.
    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

  20. I’ve been celebrating by watching African-American themed documentaries on TV. I’ve been learning a lot. :) Thank you so much for offering this giveaway! eyeslikesugar [at] gmail [dot] com

  21. I would love to win. I am going to have a special letter from an author of the book Still I Rise. A graphic African American history book. I will also be reviewing the book.

    teddyr66 at yahoo dot com

  22. This year, I would like to focus on the arts…music, fine art and literature, for Black History month…. to enrich my own life, and my family’s, I have begun to research and discuss some ideas about Black culture as it relates to these areas. I can’t wait to continue!!

    Thanks for the opportunity which includes much literature that would be relevant! Excelllent giveaway!!

  23. I want my children to celebrate thier herratige and be proud to be black. It’s hard to look at history and still feel proud of the past, but things are slowly changing and we are going to celebrate this year by learning only positive things that black Americans have done.
    Our new president makes it a little easier.
    We cook traditional food and learn about music and traditions. It’s one of my favorite months.

  24. My wife and I plan on helping our children learn about historical figures throughout the African Diaspora from Imhotep to Dr. Ben Carson. They are required to read one book per week and write two essays by the end of the month. They will also have to watch movies or documentaries once a week. Moreover, we played a Black History Trivia Game as a family. We believe our children will have a better understanding of who they are. Therefore, our children will know they come from greatness.

  25. I am spending the month working with my middle school students to discover a different famous African-American each day and discussing their life and what contribution they are known for.

  26. I am celebrating by reading more about African-American’s each day and I’m reading Barack’s book The Audacity of Hope also.

  27. There are several programs going on in my area that I plan to attend a couple of them as I do every year. African American History is a rich one and there is always something new to learn.

  28. I’m going to our local library tomorrow for an exhibit on Black History and to check out one of the books that they will have highlighted to go with this month’s theme. Our library does a great job with exhibits and showcasing books from the period or about the period exhibited. It’s suppose to be cold here tomorrow, so it will be a great day to spend at the library! I’d love to win this collection!
    Thanks so much,
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  29. I’m a 5th grade teacher here in Appleton WI
    I am delegating a special exersise
    A speech
    They will be gradedGod bless u all!

  30. I’m a stay at home guy. I’ll probably watch the outstanding documentaries on PBS. Please accept my entry. Thank you.

  31. I have been reading lots of books that tell all about black history. Please include me in your drawing.
    Thanks Debbie

  32. My plan for celebrating African-American History Month:

    I will be reading the novels written by my favorite African-American writers. To name a couple: Richard Wright and James McBride.

  33. I plan on celebrating African-American History Month by teaching my kids more about the history of African-American’s in the United States. The interent is such a wonderful tool in teaching younger kids about our history.

  34. i would like to win this for my aunt because she is a strong democrat and i know nothing about politics

  35. I used to work at a television station in the inner city and made many friends there, and I plan to celebrate African-American Month by helping my African-American friends create their videos!

  36. We are having a huge staff and family celebration this Friday (Feb 27th) at the non-profit preschool where I work. There will be family-child activites, prizes, vendors of local-made products, lots of food, and fellowship. Staff members have also participated in other local Black History Month events, sponsored by our local community. Thanks for the chance to win these books, which I will share will my co-workers and clients.

  37. I’m going to celebrate by taking the family on a trip to Baltimore’s “Great Blacks in Wax” Museum! If you’re ever in the area, I highly recommend it as an entertaining, educational experience. Thank you!

  38. I celebrate African-American History Month by reading and learning about it. I also read online about the great African – American heroes in sports and our armed services. It is amazing to me that I have never heard of some of them and I ask myself why? It is very painful to read about this history, especially the senseless killings, like those of the three beautiful black little girls as they were in church.

    Thank you!

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  39. I am planning a celebration with my students and having them do projects centered on the month

  40. I plan on celebrating African-American History Month by attending the Las Vegas NASCAR races and reflecting on the contribution of Wendall Scott!

  41. I’ll be taking my kids down to the library to pick out some books. I want them to learn more about their heritage and embrace it!

  42. My son is mixed African-American & white American. I have always encouraged and taught him the history of his ancestors. We both will be Queenie & Roots this month

  43. I’m going to celebrate – I hope by reading abook on African -American history from the library.

  44. By learning more of course, but also teaching even more Black history to my English as a Second Language students.

  45. I don’t understand why Black History is limited to one month, but we will be studying and watching alot of the documentaries.

  46. I plan on celebrating by trying to learn more about Black History, and talking to my kids about it. Thanks for the chance to win these books.

  47. The Lifetime channel always airs a bunch of educational movies around this time and I always try to watch!

  48. I plan on celebrating this month by sharing my love of reading stories about and by African American authors with young people of all ages. I will be purchasing noteworthy books that have inspired me and give to the teens I mentor. Thank you, Bobbie, for giving me more book suggestions to inspire the next generation!

  49. I am planning on checking out some children’s books about African American history at our local library and reading them with my kids. Our library always puts out a great display to celebrate African American history month.

  50. As a African American woman I am celebrating this month by celebrating my rich hertiage and honoring those women who went before me and opened so many doors I would never have been able to go through if not for them. I live in the South, and even though there is still tension, there is still so much all women and men of color have accomplished. As a teacher I am devoting special time each class to help others of all colors learn about the acheivements of those of color who have been forgotten or never brought to light. To me everyday is African American history month in a sense as I always try to embrace my color yet also embrace being a American as well.

  51. I’ve been re-reading Obama’s two books as well as biographies of Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela, Ella Fitzgerald, and Jackie Robinson. I also recorded the terrific CNN program, “Black in America,” and have been thinking a lot about the nature of race relations in the country today. I also teach an introductory psychology course, so I’ve made it a point to discuss research and theory on prejudice and interracial relations in the context of Black History Month.

  52. I don’t plan specific celebrations just for Black History month – I try to educate my children throughout the year about issues of race and history that are left out of the mainstream curriculum so that they are aware of who they are and where they came from – how far they’ve come and how far we have left to go.

  53. I am reading books about our new president. This is such an important time in our political history.

  54. I have been visiting the library and reading wonderful novels that have me captivated and enthralled. Thanks for this chance.

  55. My daughter and I will be researching past African-American historical figures and reading books about them.

  56. I’m going to take part in any celebration possible. I’ve already attended an incredible concert of gospel songs and spirituals.

  57. I will check out the history channel. There should be several documentaries to help me celebrate African-American history month.

  58. ****** CONGRATULATIONS TO: Kathy Yohanna(#104), Denise(#55), Gary Bronstein(#75), Carolyn(#11), Veronica Sandberg(#34) on Winning the Celebrating African-American History Book Giveaway!!! ******

    All 5(Five) winners have been sent an e-mail congratulating them on their win and asking for their mailing information.

    The winners were chosen using Random.org http://www.random.org/.

    Thank you to everyone who participated!!

Comments are closed.