Book Review – The Shack

The Shacktheshackcover-thumb
Written By: WM. Paul Young
Published By: Windblown Media, in association with Hachette Book Group USA, 2008, First Edition, 256 pages, softcover
ISBN 978-0964729230

The Shack is a unique blend of sadness, regret and tension; with a whole bunch of religion thrown in the middle.”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“Mackenzie Allen Philips’ youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later in the midst of his Great Sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on a wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change Mack’s world forever. In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrelevant “The Shack” wrestles with the timeless question, “Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?” The answers Mack gets will astound you and perhaps transform you as much as it did him. You’ll want everyone you know to read this book!”

The Shack is not at all what I had been expecting. When I read the descriptions of this book and all the rave reviews, I was chomping-at-the-bit to get a copy to read and review. As I began reading, I was blown away by the skillful writing and the story; the first four chapters, literally kept me spellbound! Mac’s horror and sorrow because of the loss of his daughter is palpable and so very moving. Then I began reading chapter five and what a disappointment it was…right on through to the beginning of the last chapter. Chapters five through seventeen are a communion with God, as the holy trinity. The holy trinity however, is a somewhat eccentric blend of ethnic persons who stretch the plausibility and the imaginative bounds of who God could be. For some, this book might be a wondrously creative look at the heavenly father, though I can’t help feeling that some Christians and/or religious people may well be offended by this potentially blasphemous characterization of the Holy trinity. These thirteen chapters include parables, re-worded scriptures, divine revelations and religious teachings; it is a not-so-cleverly-disguised religious conversion message (for the reader). Personally, I found the religious portion of this book, namely chapters five through seventeen, a distraction from the wonderful beginning. It had such potential!
This book may appeal to those who have faith in God and a religious and/or Christian background.

♦♦♦♦ (4 out of 10 Diamonds) – I sort-of liked it
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.windblownmedia.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/

A special thanks to Hachette Book Group for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

7 thoughts on “Book Review – The Shack

  1. Kathy – You are very welcome for the review. I think it is a good book to read if you know what you are getting into. If you bought the book with only the back cover’s description to recommend it, you could be very disappointed.
    Perhaps it is the fault of the copy writer, for leading us astray and being to vague? ;-)

    Mel K. – Please let me know what you think of it Mel. :-) I would really like to know!

  2. My Mom just gave me this book today. She could not say enough good things about it. I’m glad I read your review, so that my expectations may be more realisitc!

  3. Oh super Stacy! :-)
    I’d love to hear what you thought about it. Please let me know, if you don’t mind.
    My review depends a lot on my perspective too, so you might feel very differently about it. Who knows eh? :-)

  4. Thanks for the recent (and honest) review! I was given a copy during the holiday season which I haven’t read yet. I get a little suspicious when nearly every review raves about a book. :)

  5. Hi Amber,

    You are very welcome for the review. Yes, I would say it is very honest, perhaps a little too much so? :-) I feel that same way, when I book gets thousands of rave reviews…I get a little suspicious.
    If you don’t mind, I’d like to know if you enjoy it or not. I’m always curious about how my interpretation matches up with other readers thoughts.
    Thank you for commenting Amber. ;-)

Leave a Reply

