Book Review – I Like You

I Like You,i-like-you
Hospitality Under the Influence
Written By: Amy Sedaris
Published By: Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Group USA Inc., 2008, First Edition, 304 pages, softcover
ISBN 978-0446696777

I Like You is an outlandish cookbook with lots of recipes, zany entertaining ideas and heaps of unique pictures.”

I Like You is NOT an everyday, run-of-the-mill cookbook and entertaining guide. This book contains more then 200 interesting recipes and some very unique thoughts and ideas on how to amuse guests of all kinds. I was a little overwhelmed with the scrapbook-type layout and I was hoping for something a little easier on the eyes. This cookbook is full of old-fashioned photographs, but I found that the photographs overpowered the typed recipes and craft ideas. This book is geared towards women, though some men might enjoy the recipes and other parts of this book. I feel that this cookbook will likely spend more time as an entertaining coffee-table book, rather then being in the kitchen with the rest of the cookbooks; this is probably what the author has intended, all along. I will admit to laughing out loud at some of the crazy pictures and the little conversations that the Author has with the reader, but over all I would say that this book is not what I was hoping for.

♦♦♦♦♦♦ (6 out of 10 Diamonds) – I enjoyed it
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.amysedarisrocks.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/

A special thanks to Hachette Book Group for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

7 thoughts on “Book Review – I Like You

  1. It indeed DOES sound like a coffee-table book (with recipes thrown in), and I guess there’s nothing wrong with that, since we all want to be entertained, especially when we can just flip through and read whatever our eyes settle on!

  2. Hi Christina,

    I would say that it would make for an entertaining coffee-table book, though it might make you snort a drink out your nose. lol
    There are many pictures and write-ups that are nothing short of indecent and they made me laugh quite a bit. I don’t think it is male humour though. ;-)

Leave a Reply

