Book Review – Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy

Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy,mr-and-mrs-fitzwilliam-darcy
Two Shall Become One
Written By: Sharon Lathan
Published By: Sourcebooks Landmark, 2009, First Edition, 312 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-1402215230

Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy is an overly-flowery, rather plot-less love story that at times, had me holding back yawns of boredom.”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“The first in a series that follows Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy from their wedding day into married life, Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy is inspired by the Keira Knightley/Matthew MacFayden movie. The author vividly imagines this young and energetic couple as they immerse themselves in their profound love and face the challenges of their era.
Elizabeth and Darcy are positively goo-goo eyes for each other and the burgeoning love and closeness between them drives the plot. As the narrative unfolds through the honeymoon and then the challenges of Elizabeth assuming the role of Mistress of Pemberley, Darcy and Elizabeth thoroughly reveal their differing points of view of how their relationship blossomed from misunderstanding to perfect understanding. As the couple grows in maturity and understanding, as they accustom themselves to each other and to married life, Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy emerges as a fascinating portrait of a deep and passionate marriage.”

Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy, Two Shall Become One is…in a word, boring. I’ll admit that I have not read any of Jane Austen’s novels, though I have watched several film adaptations and enjoyed them. When I heard about this novel, I was ready to be swept away with a fine plot and a beautiful love story; well, this story is mostly plot-less, overly flowery and obsessively wordy. The story is overflowing with profuse adulations and compliments, which at points in the storyline, almost made me put the book down and refuse to pick it back up. The love story and the intimate bedroom scenes were very sweet and touching at times, but once again, were really overdone and much to wordy. I am a reader of historical fiction and historical romances so this period in time is not unfamiliar to me. At other points in the story, I found my attention wandering because the story was written with so many descriptives and unnecessary wordiness. Some of the scenery is beautifully written; I enjoyed these brief reprieves.
There is a distinct possibility that I just do not have what it takes to enjoy this Jane Austen-esk book and for some reason ‘I simply may not get it’; I am sorry if this review comes off as a rant. It is not my intention what-so-ever. I was REALLY looking forward to reading this book and I thought I would enjoy it immensely; my disappointment is glaringly obvious. I would love to hear from Jane Austen fans and see if my not-having-read the Austen books, is part of what is keeping me from enjoying this continuing story of Elizabeth and Darcy.

♦♦♦♦ (4 out of 10 Diamonds) – I sort-of liked it
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.darcysaga.net/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.sourcebooks.com/

A special thanks to at Sourcebooks for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

11 thoughts on “Book Review – Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy

  1. I’m reading Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” now (my very first book by Austen) and I’m enjoying it incredibly. That said, I have no desire to read these modern takes and continuation of the story. I had a feeling they’d be exactly as you described: overdone, overwrought, boring, and in the end, kind of pointless. Austen herself is a little wordy, but I think the wordiness is more a product of her time. Which is why I kind of expect that from her – not from writers born in the twentieth century.

  2. Hi J.S. Peyton,

    I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment. It means a lot to me, to hear from my blog readers and in this case, doubly so. It is good to hear that I am not the only one that couldn’t really appreciate this type of writing in our modern world.
    I’ve been told that Jane Austen doesn’t include very descriptive love scenes in her books either. It is quite possible that some die-hard Austen fans might be really put off by these inclusions, in Sharon Lathan’s book.
    Thanks again for your take on it! :-)

  3. Hi Nancy (Bookfool),

    I don’t blame you for being unable to finish it; I had a REALLY difficult time getting through it too…sheer force of will that was strongly tested! ;- )
    I really appreciate your comments. It’s good to hear that I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t overjoyed about this novel’s content.

  4. I’m halfway through it and I really really like it! Prior to this novel, I read the Diary of Mr Darcy and after finishing it and reading this book I was a little hesitant to even finish the first chapter, being that the author based the book after the movie. With that said, I already had in mind that the wording would not have any hints of Jane Austins style. But after two weeks, I gave the book another chance and now I can’t put it down! I guess it makes it really easy to love when you picture Keira Knightley and Matthew MacFayden going through the motions. Its a very romantic and happy unfolding of our favorite couple in every day newly wed life at Pemberley. And who doesn’t want to read how Lizzy holds down the title of Mistress of Pemberley? Kudos to Lathan! I hope people do give the book another try. I’m glad I did.

  5. Hi Erica Mallari,

    It’s nice to hear from a fan of Lathan’s book…I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm with everyone…it was very good of you to give her book a second try and I’m happy it ended up working for you. :)

  6. I am reading this book now, and though I do think parts of it overdone, I am enjoying it. Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite films, and I find Mr. Darcy quite attractive. Perhaps picturing him in these scenes is what keeps me going.

  7. Hi McilrathBoreanaz,

    Thank you for letting us know that you are enjoying the book; I suppose that I would have enjoyed this story a “tiny” bit more, if I had pictured the character who played Darcy in the film adaptation. ;)

  8. Pingback: In Which I Venture Once More Into the Land of Austenesque Lit (Part 2) | Iris on Books

Leave a Reply

