Book Review – A Shattered Village

A Shattered Village,a-shattered-village
A Logan & Cafferty Mystery (Book 1)
Written By: Jean Henery Mead
Published By: ePress-Online Inc., 2008, First Edition, 209 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-1934258293

A Village Shattered reminds me of the show ‘Murder She Wrote’; a sleuthing story full of mysterious murders and characters; it keeps you guessing, right till the end!”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“The Valley Retirement Village is the scene of a serial killer’s revenge. Who is alphabetically killing Sew and So Club members, and why? When the newly-elected sheriff botches the investigation, Dana Logan and Sarah Cafferty, widows living in the village, decide to solve the murders themselves. Dana, a mystery novel buff, and Sarah, a private investigator’s widow, soon make a sobering discovery: they are also on the killer’s list. Dana’s beautiful daughter Kerrie, a news correspondent, arrives, complicating matters, but she quickly proves her value in the investigation. San Joaquin Valley fog hides the killer as well as hindering the murder case. The plot is sprinkled with romance as well as humor in this first novel of the Logan & Cafferty senior sleuth series.”

A Shattered Village feels like you are sitting down with a reassuring, old friend; it is one of those books that let you relax into it. The story is only mildly suspenseful until about 3/4’s of the way through when it ramps right up, but the whole story is packed-full of mysteries that lead you further and further away from the answers to these puzzling and disturbing murders of the members of the seniors Sew and So Club. The Author does a brilliant job of creating moods and settings that enhance the story; she is very skilled at creating entertaining and unique characters as well. With a smoothly-flowing plot and some surprising twists, the Author weaves a mystery that leaves you with more questions then answers, daring you to solve the mystery yourself, before she reveals the killer. I thought I’d figured it all out, several times over, but I was in for quite a surprise. The serial killer is a menacing mixture of deranged self-importance and twisted mania; I would have enjoyed reading more about the killer and hope that perhaps in the next books, more internal dialog from the killers will be included. Throughout the story, romance tries to blossom; but who knows if it can thrive in such a death-laden atmosphere. I enjoyed reading this book, even though mysteries are not one of my favourite genres.
I highly recommend this book to fans of murder mysteries!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (7 out of 10 Diamonds) – I really enjoyed it
 

Link to the Author’s Website:
http://jeanhenrymead.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://epress-online.com/

A special thanks to Jean Henry Mead for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

4 thoughts on “Book Review – A Shattered Village

  1. This sounds quite good Bobbie. I always like a good murder mystery/thriller once in a while. I really like the cover on this novel too.

  2. Hi Darlene,

    It was good! As soon as I began reading it, I had the same feeling that I get when I watch Murder She Wrote. It was strange in a way, but I had a feeling that it would be of the same variety.
    This book is a little more graphic then the Mysteries that Jessica Fletcher was always getting involved with though. ;-)
    The cover is really great…with so little colour it really creates the right mood.
    If you read it sometime, I’d love to hear what you thought of it.

  3. I love mysteries that you don’t figure out – until they let you know what’s happened – or that you think you’ve figured out – as happened to you – and you’re wrong! It really makes a person THINK HARD, which is great!

  4. Hi Christina,

    I know what you mean; there is nothing more irritating then a movie or a book that is so predictable and easy to figure out, that you can do it well before you reach the end of the book. I am much more interested in reading mysteries now that I have read Jean Henry Mead’s novel. She gives me hope for other murder mysteries out there lol ;-)
    I tried and tried to figure out who the killer was, but no dice.
    What mysteries do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

