Book Review – The Other Boleyn Girl

The Other Boleyn Girlthe-other-boleyn-girl1
Written By: Philippa Gregory
Published By: Touchstone, a registered trademark of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2003, First Touchstone Edition, 672 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-0743227445
(Movie cover version: ISBN 978-1416560609)
Top Pick

The Other Boleyn Girl is a vibrant, spell-binding tale of love, loyalty and betrayal in King Henry’s Court; you don’t want to miss this one!”

Product Description – Amazon.com
“Two sisters competing for the greatest prize: the love of a king
When Mary Boleyn comes to court as an innocent girl of fourteen, she catches the eye of Henry VIII. Dazzled by the king, Mary falls in love with both her golden prince and her growing role as unofficial queen. However, she soon realizes just how much she is a pawn in her familys ambitious plots as the kings interest begins to wane and she is forced to step aside for her best friend and rival: her sister, Anne. Then Mary knows that she must defy her family and her king, and take her fate into her own hands.
A rich and compelling tale of love, sex, ambition, and intrigue, The Other Boleyn Girl introduces a woman of extraordinary determination and desire who lived at the heart of the most exciting and glamorous court in Europe and survived by following her own heart.”

The Other Boleyn Girl is absolutely fantastic! The full account as told by this novel, transcends the on-screen film adaptation by leaps and bounds; if you haven’t read this book you are missing out on 3/4’s of the story. As with many film adaptations, this book outshines the on-screen performances and the story it tells. This novel is full of manipulation, political manoeuvring, deceit and heart-wrenching treachery; as the Boleyn’s rise in power so to does their risk of safety and death by treason. Torn loyalties and familial affection become twisted into a grotesque mask of hatred, jealousy and spite. The flowing narrative is uninterrupted by any sluggishness and keeps the reader absorbed from start to finish. As the plot progresses a sense of impending doom grows; it gets diverted from time to time but it keeps building until the very end. With breathtaking prose, the Author creates a world and its various English settings with a poignancy that flows over you like the cool water from a stream; the picturesque beauty of the outdoor scenes nearly had me in tears. When a family is willing to throw away their morals, values and sell their very souls for a chance at the wealth, status and the throne of England, who knows what can happen. I 100% enjoyed this novel. I can’t recommend it highly enough!
If you enjoy Historical Fiction, romance, intrigue or any of the above I implore you to pick up a copy as soon as possible.
I very highly recommend this book!!!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (10 out of 10 Diamonds) – Absolutely LOVED it!!
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.philippagregory.com/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.simonsays.com/

A special thanks to Simon & Schuster for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

12 thoughts on “Book Review – The Other Boleyn Girl

  1. Hi Teddy,

    I’m so glad! :-) I wish I could read more about what went on in Mary’s life after the book finished; she’s a really fascinating character.
    I love the Tudors too. Have you watched the TV show? I haven’t yet, but I might check it out.

  2. Yeah, this was one of the best historical fiction books I’ve ever read. You are right, the plot moves at a fast pace and is one of those books that I could hardly put down. You may want to check out Nefertiti by Michelle Moran. It is another example of great historical fiction!

  3. Hi Stephanie,

    I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did :-)
    It was very, very hard to put down when REAL life intruded lol ;-)

    Thank you for the book recommendation. I’ll contact the author and see if I can get a review copy! :-)

  4. Hi Kaila-Ann,

    I hope you can bump it up to a little nearer the top of the TBR pile.
    Please let me know what you think of the book. :-)

    You are most welcome for the review, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  5. Books usually ARE much better than the movies, but you’ve made me REALLY want to read this book! It sounds wonderful, and I’m so glad you reviewed it! – Oh, and in your club of new words, it was interesting because you mentioned “chapbooks” – which I knew about from being a writer and having hand-made paper presses want poems of mine to create chapbooks in the past!

  6. Wow a 10 out of 10! I can’t wait to read this, and aside from watching The Tudors I’ve not watched or read any other interpretations of this period. I’ll have to move this up on my tbr. Thanks for the great review :)

  7. Hi Christina,

    I’m so glad that you want to read it! :-) I sure hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.
    That’s fantastic! I had no idea that chapbooks were still made; you’ve educated me, thanks. :-)

  8. Hi Joanne,

    Yes indeed! :-) I’m sure you will enjoy it; Philippa Gregory’s books on this topic have inspired me to find out more about the time period. I hope you enjoy the heck out of it, Joanne! :-)
    I HAVE to watch the Tudors sometime soon; I keep hearing great things about it.
    You’re most welcome for the review, I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

