Wondrous Word Wednesday

wondrous-words-wednesday-image

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  Feel free to join in the fun.

This meme is hosted by Bermudaonion, every Wednesday. 
I’m so happy to be joining in on the fun!

I found all of the following words in The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory:

1.   sweetmeats – A sweet delicacy, such as a piece of candy or crystallized fruit.

2.   marchpane – Also known as Marzipan, a confection made of almonds reduced to a paste with sugar and often molded into various forms, usually diminutive fruits and vegetables.

3.   chapbook – Mostly small paper-covered booklets, usually printed on a single sheet folded into books of 8, 12, 16 and 24 pages, often illustrated with crude woodcuts, which sometimes bear no relation to the text.

4.   yeoman – A small prosperous farmer, a free man.

5.   pariah – An outcast, in exile.

6.   fecund – highly fertile; able to produce offspring.

7.   courtier – A person in attendance at a royal court, who flatters in order to seek favour.

* I apologize ahead of time for only defining the word.  I forgot to make note of the quotes as well. 
Next time I will remember to save both the quote and the definition.

What new words have you discovered lately?

12 thoughts on “Wondrous Word Wednesday

  1. Great words! I’ve never heard marzipan referred to as marchpane. I thought a yeoman was a sailor – boy was I off with that one. Thanks for playing along today.

  2. Hi Kathy (Bermudaonion),

    I know eh, thanks. :-) I had never heard of marchpane before either…I had to look it up and I was surprised that it was the same as marzipan (I’ve secretly, always wanted to try it). :-)

    You’re so welcome and thank you for commenting!

  3. I’ve been wanting to read this book. Your words make a nice ‘teaser’ for the book. I’m glad you played along.

  4. A bunch of good words this week, huh?! Glad to see another book-lover playing along with Kathy (and, the rest of us, too!)….

    Hope the rest of your week is wonderful –

    Happy Reading!

  5. Hi Mo,

    Indeed, words galore! :-) It’s a great meme to participate in; I hope I have some new words for next Wednesday.

    Thank you, I hope your week goes well too. It’s lovely to watch the weekend approach… ;-)

    Thanks and Happy Reading to you also.

  6. Well, I’ll be. I had never known what “marchpane” meant. I had no idea it was the same as “marzipan.’

    This is what I like about this meme: so many words to learn, in other people’s posts as well as your own.

    Meanwhile, my words are here

  7. Hello: Gautami Tripathy, Kristi, Phyl and Avisannschild

    Thank you all so much for your comments! :-) I had no idea that Marchpane/Marzipan would be a new word for so many; I’m happy that I decided to list it this week!

    Thank you for the welcome and I look forward to participating again soon, I hope. :-)

    What Wondrous Words will we all have for next week I wonder? ;-)

  8. Pingback: Wondrous Words Wednesday « Bermudaonion’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

