Book Review – The Girl Next Door (ARC)

The Girl Next DoorThe Girl Next Door
Written By: Elizabeth Noble
Published By: Penguin Group Canada, 2009, First Edition, 464 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-0143168829
(Available NOW!)

The Girl Next Door feels a little bit like Friends with more depth and dimension; this multifaceted story will slowly pull you in and leave you wanting more.”

Product Description – From Amazon.ca
“A gorgeous and unforgettable novel set in a turn-of-the-century brownstone on New York’s Upper East Side, The Girl Next Door follows the stories of the building’s residents, showing their lives, their loves and the way they live together.
Meet Eve Gallagher in Apartment 7A, newly moved to New York from London with her ambitious banker husband. She’s lonely and lost…until she meets elderly neighbour Violet, who’s concealing a tragic story of her own. The Kramers and the Schulmans in Apartments 6A and 6B are about to find their lives intersecting in a most unfortunate manner when Jason Kramer falls head-over-heels for Rachael Schulman.
Jackson Grayling III in Apartment 5A is 26, fantastically wealthy and a directionless layabout. He’s attracting the attention of a gold-digger in 2B even though he’s far more interested in the beautiful and hardworking Emily Milanowski in 3B. And finally, plain, dull and self-conscious Charlotte Murphy rents 2A and works in the Public Library. She lives in a dream world and is desperate to be anyone but herself. Will any of her neighbours ever take enough notice of her to help her?”

The Girl Next Door starts off slowly, no doubt do to the somewhat long list of characters that you have to sort through. Thankfully there is a helpful ‘List of Characters’ at the beginning of the book which the reader can refer too; I had to do so several times. Once you remember who each of the different characters are (perhaps you have a better memory then I, so it might be quicker for you) the story’s pace picks up and the reader quickly becomes enmeshed in the lives of these apartment dwellers. As the narrative progresses and the reader becomes more familiar with each of the characters, it is very easy to forget that you are reading a book instead of watching a movie. Each of the characters is well-developed with their own unique personality and distinct voice. One of the nicest things about this novel is how the author has blended all of their lives together in such unlikely ways; normally I can see the end of the book coming from a mile away but The Girl Next Door held many surprising plot twists, some of which had me in tears with poignant sadness that tore at my heart. I wouldn’t call this a light-hearted easy read because it has too much depth; this charming story will satisfy the innocuous voyeur in all of us.
I highly recommend this book.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (8 out of 10 Diamonds) – Thoroughly enjoyed it
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.elizabethnoblebooks.com/content/index.asp
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.penguin.ca/

A special thanks to Penguin Group Canada for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

10 thoughts on “Book Review – The Girl Next Door (ARC)

  1. Hi Kathy (bermudaonion),

    Yes you’re right; it is a good book. :-)
    You an I both struggle with the multiple viewpoints, though I have to confess that this particular novel is worth the time it takes to refer to the ‘List of Characters’ a few times; it just gets better and better.

  2. The cover is gorgeous and your review has made me add this to my wish list. Innocuous Voyeur, indeed!

  3. Hi Stacy (stacybuckeye),

    I know eh? I love the cover too; the cherry blossoms (I’m assuming that’s what they are) are so very lovely!! :-)
    I hope you enjoy it…just be prepared for a little bit of confusion/a somewhat slow start. It picks up pretty quickly though…so just hang in there. ;-)
    LOL on the Voyeur :-)

  4. Great review, I’m only about 25 pages from finished with this book and it’s terrific. I’m pleasantly surprised at how the story plays out, I had expected something a bit fluffier. And the cast of characters chart was very helpful for me too :)

  5. Hi Joanne (The Book Zombie),

    Thanks so much, I’m glad you enjoyed it. :-)
    I agree with you…I had a feeling it would be kind of superficial and ‘fluffy’…it’s anything but.
    I would have been LOST with out the list of characters…I agree, it was very helpful.

    I look forward to reading your review, Joanne! :-)

  6. I agree with yous this book was the shit. I cant wait to read it again. Its up there with the book “The Boy Called It” Anyways thanks for posting this Joanne. Much love

  7. Hi Phaneuf,

    Yes, it certainly is a great book! :) You’re going to read it again, so soon? :) Good for you!
    I’ve never heard of “The Boy Called It”…who is the author?

  8. I love this book! By chapter 3 I was casting actors in my mind to play the various characters. The list of characters certainly helped. I would recommend this book to anyone, makes the perfect summer read.

  9. Hello Mam,

    It’s nice to hear from yet another fan of The Girl Next Door! :) I too, would have been LOST without the list of characters. Thanks for the recommendation. :)

Leave a Reply

