Book Review – My Cousin Rachel

My Cousin RachelMy_Cousin_Rachel
Written By: Daphne du Maurier
Published By: Sourcebooks Landmark, an Imprint of Sourcebooks Inc., 2009 (Originally Published in 1951), 392 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-1402217098

My Cousin Rachel is a captivating Gothic story that pulses with emotion and dark undercurrents; you don’t want to miss it!”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“Philip Ashley’s older cousin Ambrose, who raised the orphaned Philip as his own son, has died in Rome. Philip, the heir to Ambrose’s beautiful English estate, is crushed that the man he loved died far from home. He is also suspicious. While in Italy, Ambrose fell in love with Rachel, a beautiful English and Italian woman. But the final, brief letters Ambrose wrote hint that his love had turned to paranoia and fear.
Now Rachel has arrived at Philip’s newly inherited estate. Could this exquisite woman, who seems to genuinely share Philip’s grief at Ambrose’s death, really be as cruel as Philip imagined? Or is she the kind, passionate woman with whom Ambrose fell in love? Philip struggles to answer this question, knowing Ambrose’s estate, and his own future, will be destroyed if his answer is wrong.”

My Cousin Rachel is the second book by Daphne du Maurier that I have read and reviewed; I’ve enjoyed this story ever-so-much-more then Frenchman’s Creek. The flowing plot includes some startling, yet very satisfying twists and turns that encourage the reader to devour the book’s content as quickly as possible, so they can find out more; it led me on a exciting chase of emotional ups and downs, during which time I was aware of the dark undertones suggesting that people might not be who they seem. Some gentle clues within the story nudge the reader in one direction while Philip Ashley’s naivety and inexperience with women forces the story to go another. This book is an easy read; the story flowed off the page and allowed me to escape into Philip and Rachel’s world for a few, extremely entertaining hours. This novel reminds me a little of A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick; if you love one, you will likely enjoy the other.
I very highly recommend this book!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (9 out of 10 Diamonds) – Loved it!
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.dumaurier.org/
Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.sourcebooks.com/

A special thanks to Sourcebooks for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

4 thoughts on “Book Review – My Cousin Rachel

  1. Hi Stacy,

    That’s interesting…I’ve never seen the cover of “Rebecca”; it’s sad to say, but I don’t know what the story is about. You’ve read it though, Stacy?

  2. Hi Kathy,

    Yes, there are a lot of positive du Maurier reviews swirling around these days. :) So far, as I’ve only read two of her books, I recommend “My Cousin Rachel”, to you. :)

Leave a Reply

