Book Review – Holly’s Inbox (ARC)

Holly’s InboxHolly's Inbox
Written By: Holly Denham (Bill Surie)
Published By: Sourcebooks Casablanca, an imprint of Sourcebooks Inc., 2009 (originally published in 2007), 672 pages, paperback
ISBN 978-1402219030
(Available NOW!)

Holly’s Inbox is addictive and entertaining; a fresh, fun take on inter-office politics and romance in the workplace.”

Product Description – From Amazon.com
“System alert: Inbox full of scandal, romance, and office hilarity!
Meet Holly Denham. It’s her first day as a receptionist at a London investment bank and inexperienced Holly is struggling. How’s a working girl supposed to have a love life with a demanding job, crazy friends, a dysfunctional family, and gossipy colleagues? Not to mention that Holly’s been keeping a secret from everyone – and the past is about to catch up with her.
An affair with a sexy VP heats things up at the office, but when Holly’s first flame (who, she thinks, left her in the lurch) gets a job at the same company, complications abound and Holly’s inbox becomes a daily source of drama, laughter and scandal.”

Holly’s Inbox is written in an email format which is unique and for me, a little distracting as well (having to check on who the emails are to and from all of the time). Holly’s new job as a receptionist gets a rocky start and she gets more than she’s bargained for with the new employees that she communicates with. As she settles in, Holly finds a new love interest who provides a great deal of fodder for the email gossip-mill. The story is told via emails that Holly and the other characters send to one another. For the most part, it is fairly enjoyable to read; the first 2/3’s of the book was a little slow for me but I am happy to tell you that it picked up in a BIG way after that and it finished with a satisfying, well written ending! As I read through the book, I began to care about Holly and how I hoped her life would turn out…as I said before, the last 1/3 of the book is where Holly’s story really starts to seize the reader’s attention. The story isn’t as fluid as I would have liked; it is broken up by the email format and the constant back and forth between the different email senders. The plot consists of some fairly typical office-type romances and the stresses that office workers deal with on the job.
Make sure you check out www.hollysinbox.com/ to visit the fun, interactive website that looks like Holly’s REAL inbox!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (7 out of 10 Diamonds) – I really enjoyed it
 

Link to the Author’s website:
http://www.hollysinbox.com/

Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.sourcebooks.com/

A special thanks to Sourcebooks for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

12 thoughts on “Book Review – Holly’s Inbox (ARC)

  1. This looks like a fun read. I have read books before that are in letter format…. back and forth and it can get a bit tricky trying to follow. Thanks for the review. I love reading book reviews and seeing what people are doing on their blogs. Very cool! I will be back!

    http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/

  2. ***************************************************************************
    Hi Bobbie
    Thank you so much for reviewing my book!!! If anyone has any questions at all I promise I’ll fill in with as much gossip as possible….
    ps I love painting – and watercolours are my favorite too
    x Bill
    ***************************************************************************

  3. Hi Sheila DeChantal,

    It was a unique format and a good story too. :) You are most welcome for the review. I’m glad you enjoy the reviews and I’d be very happy to have you back! :)

  4. Hi Holly,

    Well, what a wonderful surprise! I had no idea that you would find the time in your busy work schedule to send me a message; thanks so much!! Hmmm…gossip, eh? Well, how is the love life going?? Are you making any more-permanent plans about your future?? ;)

    That’s fantastic news; did you happen to look at my water colour paintings? If so, I hope you liked one or two of them.

    Big hugs and I hope to hear from you soon.

    All My Best to you Hol’s (a.k.a. Bill)
    xxx :)

  5. ***************************************************************************
    Hi
    Just looked now – love the shapes – the turquoise ones are my favorite –
    not sure about plans, I’m considering trying to run a bar in Spain – as for now the recruitment industry isn’t the best to be in….
    so if you’re ever coming to the South of Spain I’ll buy you a drink! My favorite hope is I just get to write full time!! that I’d love!
    Have a fab week, thanks so much again.
    Bill
    ***************************************************************************

  6. Hi Holly,

    I like the turquoise painting too. :) A bar in Spain; it sounds like a great idea! If I ever make it to Spain I’ll be sure to drop by. I hope that you can write full time, there’s nothing quite like it!
    Thanks, I’ll have a fabulous week and I hope that you do too.

  7. Hi diaryofaneccentric,

    I know what you mean; the sheer number of pages is a little daunting. I’m glad that you’ve enjoyed it! :)
    I look forward to reading your review, Anna.

Leave a Reply

