Hail in July!

Yes, HAIL in July…it was 18 Degrees C (64.4 Degrees F) @ 11:50pm on Saturday night and we’d been watching the weather warnings for several hours.  Here’s what they were saying at Environment Canada (I’ve blacked-out the cities and towns):

SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WARNING: BonnyvilleSt. Paul Cold LakeLac La Biche Issued at 11:54 PM MDT SATURDAY 18 JULY 2009  

AT 11:50 PM RADAR INDICATED A LINE OF SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS JUST OVER COLD LAKEAND EXTENDING NORTH THAT IS CAPABLE OF PRODUCING LARGE HAIL AND STRONG WINDS. THIS LINE IS MOVING EAST AT 50 KM/H. THIS IS A WARNING THAT SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS ARE IMMINENT OR OCCURRING IN THESE REGIONS. REMEMBER THAT SOME SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS PRODUCE TORNADOES. LISTEN FOR UPDATED WARNINGS. NOTE..A SUMMARY OF ALL WARNINGS AND WATCHES FOR NORTHERN ALBERTA IS AVAILABLE IN THE WWCN16 CWWG BULLETIN ISSUED IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THIS BULLETIN. PLEASE REFER TO THE LATEST PUBLIC FORECASTS FOR FURTHER DETAILS.

AN UNSTABLE AIRMASS HAS RESULTED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THUNDERSTORMS ACROSS CENTRAL ALBERTA. SOME OF THESE STORMS HAVE THE POTENTIAL TO BECOME SEVERE.

We did have some crazy-strong wind, savage lightning, a torrential downpour and hail. Luckily there weren’t (as far as we know) any other issues…no tornado as far as we know.  The worst part of it lasted about 20 minutes and now there’s just rain and lightning…I know, I know…I shouldn’t be on the computer during a storm.

So, here are some pictures that vividly illustrate what I’ve been gabbing about:

HPIM2414A picture of our front lawn…notice the hail & the gnome? ;)

HPIM2432This is a picture of the top of my son’s screened-in soccer arena (it’s 6 feet tall and about 20 feet around)…DH stood up on a chair to take this picture of the hail that had collected on top…that’s DS inside the soccer arena, taking some pictures of his own.

HPIM2423DH and I collected some of the hail in a bowl to show our DS; he was REALLY excited abut seeing them close-up!!! Yes, it hurt a little, getting pinged with the hail as it was falling, but I didn’t want the hail to melt before DS had a chance to examine them. ;)

The bits of hail varied in size, some as small as dimes with others as big as golf balls, and everything in between!

So everything is okay and we all made it through fine…but what a thing to see, buckets of hail on the 18th of July!  

Update: in the bright light of day, DH noticed that we have about 30 or so dents in the top of our car from the hail…they’re pretty small so we’re just going to leave it be.  No sense getting insurance to cover it (which raises rates), just to have it happen again, possibly very soon.  Maybe, after a couple more thunderstorms that have hail…once the car looks more like a pock-marked golf ball…then we’ll get it fixed.  lol ;)

9 thoughts on “Hail in July!

  1. Kathy – I know what you mean…this morning DH found about 30 or so dents in the car. Ah well. I haven’t seen hail this big in years and years…but I’ve only been in Alberta for a year so; I’m sure I’ll see more of it.

    Stacy – Thanks! I thought was pretty neat too…I’ve never realized that the chunks of hail weren’t almost perfect balls…they are a little hollow in the center most of the time.

  2. Not very often at all and it is usually pea size. We don’t get thunder storms very often either. I miss them. I’m origionally from Minnesota and we got some real thunderstorms and hail there.

  3. Teddy – Hmm, well that’s certainly better for the vehicles lol ;) That’s too bad that you don’t get many storms where you live now; I bet you love them as much as DH and I do. There is just something about the power of the storm and the beautiful lightning…we know it’s dangerous but can’t help being in awe of it all! I hope you get to visit Minnesota again…I bet you miss it.

  4. Actually, I don’t miss it that much. I can’t ever see myself moving back to the U.S. It’s a great place to visit but I now call Canada my home. I even have my citizenship. Vancouver is a beautiful place and we don’t get the cold and snow that Minnesota has. I do miss the summer thunderstorms, but that’s a small sacrific. Also, we don’t get tornado’s here in BC.

  5. Teddy – Well that’s good to hear…I’m glad you like it here in Canada! I like it here too! :) Canada is home to so many people who love it here and I’m happy to hear that you are one of “us” Canadians. ;) Albert gets a lot of snow and some nasty winters (-40 to -60 degrees C). Oh jeeze, tornados!!…have you ever seen one in real life? I’ve only seen them in pictures and videos…they scare the heck out of me!!!!

Leave a Reply

