Book Review – The White Queen (ARC)

The White QueenThe White Queen - UK Book Cover
Book 1 in a new series – The Cousin’s War
Written By: Philippa Gregory
Published By: Touchstone/Simon & Schuster
Date: Available NOW!
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 978-1847374554

Top Pick

The White Queen is another smashingly-successful novel from Philippa Gregory; this gifted writer gives us yet another breathtaking book about warring kingdoms, witches magic, bloody battlefields and so much more…YOU do not want to miss this one!”

Product Description– From Simon & Schuster
“Brother turns on brother to win the ultimate prize, the throne of England, in this dazzling account of the wars of the Plantagenets. They are the claimants and kings who ruled England before the Tudors, and now Philippa Gregory brings them to life through the dramatic and intimate stories of the secret players: the indomitable women, starting with Elizabeth Woodville, the White Queen.
The White Queen tells the story of a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition who, catching the eye of the newly crowned boy king, marries him in secret and ascends to royalty. While Elizabeth rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for the success of her family, her two sons become central figures in a mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the missing princes in the Tower of London whose fate is still unknown. From her uniquely qualified perspective, Philippa Gregory explores this most famous unsolved mystery of English history, informed by impeccable research and framed by her inimitable storytelling skills.”

The White Queen is the 6th book written by Philippa Gregory, that I have reviewed. I am very pleased to share a little something with you all; like a fine wine that improves with age, so too, does Philippa Gregory’s writing. As a fan of Philippa’s work in general, I was hopeful that her latest book would sweep me up and transport me back in time with a historic tale that was convincing and very compelling; I am happy to tell you that I was not disappointed! The White Queen is book 1 in a new series called “The Cousin’s War” where we meet the young King Edward of York, not long after he has taken the throne. This is also considered to be the beginning of a time in English history called the “Wars of the Roses”. When the widowed Lady Elizabeth Grey meets the charismatic and handsome young King Edward, she can’t help her feelings and yearnings as she dreams of spending more time with him. Elizabeth is strong-willed, determined and fiercely loyal; though loving and kind, she is not a woman to be trifled with. This fast-paced story has a winding plot that pulses with conspiracy, betrayal, witchcraft, bloodied battles and some exquisite, g-rated romance threaded in among it all. This book was really hard to put this book down and I feel confident that the reader will enjoy this detailed, skilfully written story from beginning to end!
I very highly recommend this book to all Philippa Gregory and Historical Fiction fans!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (10 out of 10 Diamonds) – Absolutely LOVED it!!

Read more about The White Queen.
Find out where to buy this book in the UK, the US or Canada.

Watch a video with Philippa Gregory:
Seeing the Past Through 21st-century Eyes
 

Link to the Author’s Profile:
http://www.philippagregory.com/

Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.simonandschuster.co.uk/

A special thanks to Simon & Schuster UK for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

8 thoughts on “Book Review – The White Queen (ARC)

  1. Sounds like a good review…just wanted to comment on your site though, pretty cool!

  2. Hi Kathy,

    I’m happy to hear that I got my point across LOL ;) I do think The White Queen is a wonderful book! :)
    Thanks a bunch; I’m so glad that you enjoyed the review!!

  3. How did you manage to shorten your review like that?!
    Mine is a garbled mess.. so much stuff going on and I just couldn’t get my point across.. yet I also enjoyed it very much!
    See my review HERE

  4. Hi Marie,

    I try to write concise reviews each time; short & sweet is my motto. :) I was over at your site earlier today and read your lengthy review on The White Queen and enjoyed reading your thoughts on it! I’m glad that you enjoyed this book every bit as much as I did. :)
    Thank you for linking to your review.

  5. Hi Stacy,

    Hey…no need to be embarrassed. :) Philippa is a great author and I recommend her books; if you check my reviews you will see which once I recommend the most. ;) The White Queen is a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

