Book Review – The Grand Sophy

The Grand SophyThe Grand Sophy
Written by: Georgette Heyer
Published by: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Date: July 2009 (Originally published in 1950)
Pages: 384
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 978-1402218941

Top Pick

The Grand Sophy is lively and emotive; a thoroughly satisfying read for all regency era, Historical Romance fans!”

The Product Description – From Amazon.com
“When Lady Ombersley agrees to take in her young niece, no one expects Sophy, who sweeps in and immediately takes the ton by storm. Sophy discovers that her aunt’s family is in desperate need of her talent for setting everything right: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles has tyrannical tendencies that are being aggravated by his grim fiancee, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. By the time she’s done, Sophy has commandeered Charles’s horses, his household, and finally, his heart.”

The Grand Sophy is a delightful book set in London, England where the story begins in the spring of 1816. When meddlesome Sophy Stanton-Lacy arrives at her aunt’s Berkeley Square home for a lengthy visit, the oppressive atmosphere quickly weighs down on her. Sophy wastes no time and gives her younger cousins a few unique pets to enjoy. Though outspoken, honest and more then a little too cheeky; Sophy’s meddlesome ways cause quite a few quarrels. Even with the best of intentions, she manages to ruffle a lot of feathers. The smoothly flowing, fast-paced story includes some wonderful plot twists that take the reader on a delightful journey filled with witty characters, humorous dialog and precious, G-rated romance. A rather large cast of characters makes for a veritable menagerie of interactions, clashes and confrontations; this delightful story is packed-full of charm and amusement. Not too long after her arrival, the self-confident Sophie notices that her oldest cousin Charles, Mr. Rivenhall, seems to rule the household with his holier-then-thou, domineering attitude. Never one to back down from a challenge, Sophy makes it one of many important tasks, to transform the dreary home into a house filled with smiles and contentment; unfortunately, the dour Charles does not care for her intrusive behaviour.

A quote from the book – Charles & Sophy:

‘I’ll take care of that!’ he retorted. ‘Let me tell you, my dear cousin, that I should be better pleased if you would refrain from meddling in the affairs of my family!’
‘Now, that’, ‘said Sophy’, ‘I am very glad to know, because if ever I should desire to please you I shall know just how to set about it. I daresay I shan’t, but one likes to be prepared for any event, however unlikely.’

Georgette Heyer is the author of more than 50 novels and many of them are being republished by Sourcebooks Inc. I really love this particular story; it made me smile and laugh!
I very highly recommend this book to regency era, historical romance fans and those who enjoy classic literature.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ (10 out of 10 Diamonds) – Absolutely LOVED it!!
 

Read more about The Grand Sophy.
Find out where to buy this book.

Link to the Author’s Fan Website:
http://www.georgette-heyer.com/

Link to the Publisher’s Website:
http://www.sourcebooks.com/

A special thanks to Sourcebooks Inc. for sending me a copy to review.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Grand Sophy

  1. The Grand Sophy was the first Heyer novel I read, and like you, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Since then I’ve 4 or 5 more by this author. Grand Sophy remained my favorite until I read These Old Shades. It was just as wonderful.

  2. Hi Linda B.,

    Thank you for sharing. :) You’ve certainly read a number of her books; thank you for the recommendation on The Old Shade…I really want to read it now, even more then I did before! :)

  3. I haven’t read Heyer yet, but really need to remedy that. I bought her first book last year and haven’t gotten to it.

  4. Hi Stacy,

    Which novel do you have; is it The Conqueror? I tried to find a definitive first title from Georgette, but no luck.
    I hope you enjoy her first book and when you do have time (because I know that you are super busy!) please let me know if you would recommend it to me and others. :)
    Thanks for commenting, Stacy!

Leave a Reply

