Liability Waivers…Do We Need Them?

Lawsuits

Liability Waivers…Do We Need Them?

This question has plagued me ever since I started my blog.  I know that it may seem like overkill because who in their right mind would try to sue a book blogger (who doesn’t make any money at it) but you never really know, do you?

I have never been threatened with a lawsuit or anything, but does that mean that I shouldn’t be concerned about the possibility? Goodness knows, lawsuits can come at any old time and for, in my opinion, some of the stupidest reasons known to man…and sometimes those “ridiculous lawsuit” people win! Can you believe it?? 

I have taken (perhaps unnecessary) precautions and I have added a liability waiver to my blog, just in case.

But what do you think? Is it necessary to have a liability waiver on your book blog, personal blog or website? 

Am I being overzealous and a little paranoid or is it something that you will be looking into to because it sounds like a really good idea?

Or do you already have a Liability Waiver posted on your blog or website?

Please discuss this topic with me.

Copyright ©  Book Reviews By Bobbie — Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

14 thoughts on “Liability Waivers…Do We Need Them?

  1. I kind of feel like the liability waiver is overkill. I mean, if you write a negative review you aren’t doing anything wrong. It’s not like you are slandering the author, rather you are offering an honest service out to the public for free (reviewing the merits of certain books). In order to have a lawsuit you need to have something to sue over, and I feel like it’s not like someone can cut themselves on their blog, or slip on your blog’s black ice, or something crazy like that. Also, it’s not like you are running a hate blog, but if your liability waiver helps you have a worry free night, then more power to you!! :-)

  2. Hi Ladies,

    Thank you for all of the thoughtful replies! :)

    When I think about the necessity of liability waivers, I suppose I’m speaking more about Book Giveaways and so on. For instance: if someone gets ticked-off because they didn’t win a book (they weren’t randomly selected as the winner) that I personally have hosted a Giveaway for and then decide to sue OR a book that they were supposed to receive from me or a third party (a publishing company for example), never arrives (they say) but to all intents and purposes they should have received it (as far as we can tell) so they are ticked–off and threaten to or actually sue…I know that even to me it seems like overkill and a rather unlikely event, but one never knows just how spiteful some people can be, perhaps until it is too late. I’d HOPE that it would never be a problem, but I try to be pre-emptive, so I feel that a liability waiver is an extra insurance policy, if you will. I’m sure it isn’t ironclad, but it’s a decent try. ;)

    I really appreciate all of the input & please continue discussing this topic. :)

  3. A copy of the Book Reviews By Bobbie Waiver of Liability:

    By entering comments, subscribing to, viewing and/or in any other way dealing with Book Reviews By Bobbie, you the entrant/commenter releases and holds Releasees, Book Reviews By Bobbie (Bobbie C.-M.), her family & associates harmless from any and all liability for any injuries, loss or damage of any kind to the entrant, their prize(s) or personal property. The entrant agrees to fully indemnify Releasees, Book Reviews By Bobbie (Bobbie C.-M.) her family & associates from any and all claims by themselves and/or third parties relating to Book Reviews By Bobbie, personal information releases, Book Giveaways, Contests or comments, etc. without limitation. By participating in and/or viewing Book Reviews By Bobbie content you and any one related to you and/or working for or on behalf of you, thereby forfeits any/and all claims to any monetary or any other type of compensation from Book Reviews By Bobbie (Bobbie C-M), her family or her associates.

  4. I hate to be a wet blanket, but liability “waivers” are worth the pixels they are printed with, and not much more.

    Fact is, a citizen (at least in the USA) can’t sign away a right (as in the right to sue) before s/he has that right (s/he’s been “damaged” in some way).

    Sure, a waiver might make some really nervous nelly think they have no rights, but anyone with a little bit of smarts (or a lawyer) will figure out a waiver is pretty much a joke.

    Sorry.

  5. Hi Deborah,

    Thank you for adding your voice to this discussion.
    No need to apologize; everyone is invited to add their ideas on this topic and you are entitled to your opinion. :)

  6. I think liability waivers are a bit over the top…but it is better to be safe than sorry. I really don’t know if I will add one. People can sue me all they want because I have nothing of value…like everyone else…I live beyond my means, etc. LOL

  7. Hi Serena,

    Thank you for joining this discussion! :) I am trying to be cautious, but I don’t really know if it is a good idea or more importantly, worth anything in a legal sense. I guess if it helps me sleep better at night, even if it doesn’t hold up in a court of law, it is worth it to type it up and display it. ;)
    I don’t have anything for anyone of value either, but that doesn’t stop anyone from getting a judgement against me…if it ever came to that.

    I appreciate your input!

Leave a Reply

